Talk to a Mustang Expert
Mon - Sun, 8:30 AM EST - 11:00 PM EST

Free Shipping On Orders Over $49. Details

How to Install a Running Pony Tri-Bar Grille Emblem on Your 1979-2012 Mustang

Installation Time

15 minutes

Tools Required
  • Small socket wrench
American Muscle
Shop Parts in this Guide


PLEASE NOTE: Fits any year billet grille; does not work on honeycomb style grilles.

1. First remove the grille from the car.

2. Attach the emblem to the T-bracket by pushing it together horizontal across the pony. Also, make sure the bolt is located toward the left side to aid in the install of the silver bracket later on.

3. Install the (2) small silver clips on each end of the bracket to hold it in place.

  • Optional: I used super glue on the clips for extra hold and security to the bracket.

4. Next, lay your billet grille on a surface that won’t scratch it with the back facing you.

5. You can install the emblem wherever you wish, but I found the best place is on the left side of the grill. Count 4 rows up from the bottom, having the bottom of the emblem in line with 4th bar to make it center. The horse’s tail should be toward the vertical bar of the billet grille.

6. This next part gets tricky. Install the vertical silver bracket with the holes matching up on top and bottom.

7. Use pressure to hold it down and install the black washer on top of the silver bracket.

8. Next, install the nut using the socket wrench and apply pressure until the emblem is snug on the grill.

  • Be sure not to over tighten to prevent warping of grille or breaking of emblem.

9. Turn the grill over and make sure everything is straight and secure.

10. After it is in the location you wish, you can reinstall the grille onto your mustang.

Before photo with old grille and no emblem:

After photo with the new billet grille and running pony emblem installed:

Installation Instructions written by AmericanMuscle customer Andrew Delgado 9.6.11

This guide applies to Vehicle years: 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 and Submodels: Bullitt, Mach 1, V6, Cobra, GT, GT500, Foxbody, Boss 302, EcoBoost, GT350